Worms Rumble Game Is A 32 Players Real-Time Arena Shooter

11
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Worms Rumble Game Is A 32 Players Real-Time Arena Shooter

Worms Rumble Game Is A 32 Players Real-Time Arena Shooter

Team 17 Digital has announced a new game in the Worms series, Worms Rumble, a “real-time, arena-based 32 player” action shooter. Their description of the game is both new and old Worms: “Get ready to rumble in Death-match or Last Worm Standing modes where you’re only ever a Holy Hand Grenade away from death!”

 

The trailer above shows off what Worms fans have to look forward to: the same crazy Worms action, all happening at the same time across a sprawling mall map. And while purists will undoubtedly turn up their noses at the decision to make it real-time, it’s hard to deny that this looks like a lot of fun.

“Worms Rumble is unlike anything we have ever done with a Worms game before,” Team17 says in its announcement. And indeed it is Worms Rumble features real-time combat, 32-player online matches with cross-play between PC and PlayStation 4 and 5, with battle royale and death-match modes available.

The trailer aswell highlights multiplayer shooting in a side-scrolling 2.5D environment, with chaotic battlefields, lots of wall-jumping, bullets wildly spraying everywhere, and little pink smirking earthworms that could only have been invented at the true height of the “edgy” ’90s. Worms Rumble’s deathmatch mode is probably exactly what it sounds like, but judging by the Steam description and tags “Last Worm Standing” is some kind of battle royale. The last game in the Worms series, Worms WMD, was a more conventional turn-based artillery game released in 2016.

Worms Rumble is due out later this year, but a multiplayer beta on Steam is set to kick off July 15. You can sign up to participate by following this link to register your name for a chance to get in and play it early.

The beta will begin July 15 at 12:00 BST / 13:00 CEST / 7:00 EDT / 4:00 PDT. It’ll run through July 20.

Rate This And Share:

0 / 5